SAP - Station Area Planning Program

Station Area Planning can advance shared goals by maximizing development potential around transit stations through a collaborative city-led planning approach. As per HB462 (2022 General Session), certain cities with FrontRunner, TRAX/Streetcar, or BRT stations must develop a Station Area Plan. Pursuant to HB462, the respective Metropolitan Planning Organization (MAG) is responsible for certifying city-led Station Area Plans (SAP). Cities within Utah County will seek certification from MAG once they have completed the Station Area Planning requirements, adopted the needed land use regulations, and adopted a resolution. 

Station Area Plans Map

Learn more about the locations eligible for SAP study funding

Station Area Plans Map

State Code - Station Area Planning

Technical Assistance Downloads

ApplicationSelection Criteria

Technical Assistance

MAG can provide technical assistance to help cities develop Station Area Plans. MAG in partnership with the Governor’s Office of Economic Opportunity (GOEO), the Utah Transit Authority (UTA), and the Wasatch Front Regional Council (WFRC) will work collaboratively to create objective criteria for awarding technical assistance grants to cities. The first technical assistance application deadline will be July 18th, 2022.

SAP projects will receive assistance in the form of consultant time or staff assistance. Consultants will be selected from the MAG/WFRC Planning Consultant Pool for streamlined procurement. Technical assistance will be provided frequently and reviewed quickly by MAG, WFRC, UTA, and GOEO staff using objective statutorily based criteria. Eligibility will include any effort that furthers a city’s ability to comply with the SAP provisions of HB462, and furthers the implementation of transit oriented development in station areas.

April 2022 ULCT Training

Meeting Recording

July 2022 SAP Certification & Technical Assistance Training

Meeting Recording

Certification Process Resources

SAP Policy Committee

Certification Process

MAG and Wasatch Front Regional Council (WFRC) are responsible for reviewing and certifying that Station Area Plans, as prepared by respective cities, have met all statutory requirements of H.B. 462. The SAP Policy Committee has been established to oversee the certification process. The SAP Policy Committee is composed of mayors from each impacted city, a representative from the League of Utah Cities and Towns, and a representative from the Utah State Legislature.

Instructions and forms for submitting SAPs for certification will be added here, when available.