May For Meals

Meals on Wheels has recruited local community leaders and elected officials to deliver meals to homebound senior citizens for the eighth annual May for Meals week held May 7-11, 2018. Twenty-eight community leaders from various cities will speak out for seniors and raise awareness for the power of Meals on Wheels.

“The services that we provide the seniors in Utah County are critical and the need is rapidly increasing,” said Heidi DeMarco, director of the Mountainland Aging and Family Services. “The support from our elected officials enable us to deliver nutritious meals, friendly visits and safety checks to our most at-risk seniors all year long.”

The elected officials will join Meals on Wheels volunteers to deliver the lunches. Volunteers are a vital part of the success of Meals on Wheels. Currently, a small army of more than 300 volunteers deliver 50% of the meals in Utah County.

March For Meals is a national campaign initiative by Meals on Wheels America (MOWA) which seeks to raise awareness and to encourage action on the part of the local community. This is the eighth year Meals on Wheels at Mountainland Association of Governments has participated in this event.

About Meals on Wheels:

Meals on Wheels helps seniors maintain their independence by providing hot, nutritious lunches. The program serves more than 450 seniors daily. In 2017, Meals on Wheels provided more than 138,000 meals to 1,300 different seniors in Utah, Wasatch and Summit counties. The program enlists more than 300 volunteers to accomplish these efforts.  

For media inquiries, contact Stephanie Benson at or 801-472-6757.

Participating Community Leaders

Utah County Wasatch County Summit County
Alpine City Councilman Lon Lott Charleston Mayor Brenda Kozlowski Kamas Mayor Matt McCormick
American Fork Mayor Brad Frost        Daniel Mayor Chip Turner Oakley Mayor Wade Woolstenhulme
Cedar Hills Mayor Jenny Rees Heber Mayor Kelleen Potter Park City Mayor Pro Tem Nann Worel
Eagle Mountain Mayor Tom Westmoreland              Midway Mayor Celeste Johnson County Councilmember Kim Carson
Highland Mayor Rod Mann                        County Councilman Kendall Crittenden
Lehi Mayor Mark Johnson County Councilman Mike Peterson
Orem Mayor Richard Brunst County Councilman Mark Nelson
Mapleton Mayor Dallas Hawkes
Payson Mayor Bill Wright
Provo Mayor Michelle Kaufusi
Santaquin Mayor Kirk Hunsaker
SS City Council Shellie Baertsch
Springville City Council
County Commissioner Bill Lee
BYU President Kevin Worthen