Choosing a Nursing Home

Selecting the appropriate long-term care facility is critically important for the health and well-being of the individual changing their living arrangements and for those involved as caregivers.

There are approximately 71 Long-Term Care Facilities in Summit, Utah, and Wasatch counties that are categorized and licensed by the type of care that they provide. Below is a list of the different types of facilities and the care provided.

Facilities and Care Provided

  • Adult Day Care 
    Provides daytime services and activities.

  • Assisted Living Type I
    Provides supervision and limited help with activities of daily living. Individuals receiving must be capable of exiting the facility without the assistance of another person. 

  • Assisted Living Type II
    Provides supervision and help with most activities of daily living. Individuals receiving care need assistance from another person to exit the facility during an emergency.

  • Intermediate Care Facilities
    Provides licensed nursing supervision for individuals of all ages and various disabilities.

  • Skilled Nursing Facilities
    Provides skilled nursing services on a 24-hour basis. For review quality measures, health inspections and staff levels on nursing home, visit

  • Transitional Care Units:
    Provides 24-hour nursing services for a few weeks or discharge to another skilled nursing facility. These facilities names, addresses, and telephone numbers are provided for you.

Additional resources: